Jon Leuer named to 2010-11 Wooden Award Preseason Top-50 list

The Wisconsin senior led the Badgers with 15.4 points and 5.8 rebounds per game last season

MADISON, Wis. – Wisconsin senior Jon Leuer was named to the John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top-50 list as announced by The Los Angeles Athletic Club Monday. The list is comprised of 50 student-athletes who, based on last year’s individual performance and team records, are the early frontrunners for college basketball’s most prestigious honor.
Leuer led the Badgers in scoring (15.4), rebounding (5.4) and blocks (1.3) last season while shooting .522 from the field last season. The Orono, Minn., native earned Big Ten honorable mention honors a year ago despite missing nine Big Ten games with the broken wrist. A two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree, Leuer joins Marcus Landry (2009), Alando Tucker (2005 and 2007), Kammron Taylor (2007) and Kirk Penney (2003) as Wisconsin’s recent Wooden Award preseason candidates.
Eleven conferences are represented on the Wooden Award Preseason List. Leading the way is the Big Ten (10), followed by the ACC (8), Big East (7), SEC (3), Big 12 (7), Pac-10 (6), Atlantic 10 (3), Mountain West (2), West Coast (2); and Conference USA and the Horizon League with one apiece.
The 35th-annual Wooden Award ceremony, which will include the announcement of the Men’s and Women’s Wooden Award winners, a special tribute to Coach Wooden and Wooden Award founder Duke Llewellyn, and the presentation of the Wooden Award All-American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, will take place the weekend of April 8-10, 2011.
Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball.  It is bestowed upon the nation’s best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA.  Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Tim Duncan (’97), Blake Griffin (’09) and Maya Moore of Connecticut (’09). Ohio State’s Evan Turner and Connecticut’s Tina Charles won the Award in 2010.

Next Badgers Game Full schedule »

Tags: All American List Badger Basketball 2010 Bo Ryan Bucky Badgers College Basketball John Wooden Award List Jon Leuer NCAA Basketball Awards List UW Basketball Wisconsin Badgers Basketball

comments powered by Disqus