Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

Melvin Gordon Lands on Maxwell Award Watch List

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

It’s that time of year again. Watch list season! In the next few weeks, all the prestigious college football awards will be releasing their watch lists. One of the first ones to come out was the Maxwell Award, given to the top college football player by the Maxwell Football Club. And surprise, surprise! Wisconsin Badgers running back Melvin Gordon finds himself on this watch list for the second year in a row.

The winner of the Maxwell Award is not always the same as the Heisman winner, as the Maxwell Football Club generally gives the award to upperclassmen. The 2013 winner was Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron. Reigning Heisman Trophy winner from last year Jameis Winston is the lone finalist from 2013 to land on the watch list.

Gordon will look to become only the second Wisconsin Badger to win the prestigious. In 1999 Ron Dayne took home the Maxwell Award as well as the Heisman Trophy. That also marked the last time a running back has won the Maxwell Award.

Not only was Gordon on the watch list a year ago, he was also named a semifinalist for the award. Gordon rushed for 1,609 yards and 12 touchdowns last season while helping the Badgers to a 9-4 record. One of the best running backs in the nation, Gordon could be a front-runner for the Heisman Trophy as well.

The Maxwell Award will announce their semifinalists on November 3, with three finalists being named on November 24. On December 11, the winner of the Maxwell Award will be announced at the annual Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Next Badgers Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Oct 2525 Oct11:00Maryland TerrapinsBuy Tickets

Tags: Maxwell Award Melvin Gordon Wisconsin Badgers

comments powered by Disqus