Ranking the Wisconsin Badgers offensive coordinators over the last decade

Wisconsin has always had a high-powered offense, but which offensive coordinator was the mastermind behind it all?
Wisconsin offensive coordinator Phil Longo is shown during spring football practice.
Wisconsin offensive coordinator Phil Longo is shown during spring football practice. / Mark Hoffman/Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
1 of 4

In the past decade, Wisconsin has had five head coaches, two of them interim head coaches that finished seasons for fired coaches. With the revolving door of head coaches comes a revolving door of coordinators and assistants.

With each new coach comes new coordinators and coaching staffs, so there has been a lot of turnover at Wisconsin. Since 2014, there have been four offensive coordinators at Wisconsin. The current offensive coordinator at Wisconsin is Phil Longo, who has been in the position since 2023.

With new blood coming into the Big Ten, the Badgers must ensure their offense can compete with the big dogs. However, let's look at the offensive coordinators of the past decade and see who had some of the best offenses.

Bobby Engram. Bobby Engram. 4. player. Wisconsin Badgers OC. . 2022. . . 493

Bobby Engram had the tough job of taking over for long-time offensive coordinator Joe Rudolph who coached the offense from 2015 to 2021. Engram was the last coordinator of the Paul Chryst era when the Badgers went 7-6 overall and 4-5 in the Big Ten.

Engram had a tough season working under three head coaches. The offense averaged 363.6 total yards per game, 183.8 passing, and 179.8 rushing. The Badgers started the season ranked, but after a 17-14 loss to Washington State where Wisconsin could not get the offense going, they dropped out of the rankings.

In each one of Wisconsin's losses in 2021, the offense was never able to score more than 28 points, scoring over 20 just twice in their six losses. With a new coach coming in, it was no surprise that Engram was out and new head coach Luke Fickell brought in his own coaching staff.