Top 10 Wisconsin Badgers We’ll Miss: No. 10, Peniel Jean


The 2014 college football season is winding down, and Badger of Honor is bidding farewell to the Wisconsin football players who will leave the team following the Outback Bowl on January 1, 2015.

We already took a look at the rest of the senior class, and we begin our top 10 countdown with defensive back Peniel Jean.

Jean, a redshirt senior, will play in his 45th game as a Badger in the Outback Bowl.

Wisconsin Badgers
Wisconsin Badgers /

Wisconsin Badgers

He has 88 career tackles in his time at Wisconsin (56 solo) and has a sack, three tackles for loss, two interceptions, a fumble recovery, and seven passes defended.

While he has struggled at times in the passing game, he’s been a strong run defender, and is having his best season against the run this year.

Jean has 25 solo and 50 total tackles this season, trailing only Michael Caputo and Wisconsin’s four linebackers in that department. He’s added both of his career interceptions this season, as well as his only career fumble recovery.

Jean has moved between safety and cornerback, often playing as Wisconsin’s fifth defensive back when needed. His versatility has allowed defensive coordinator Dave Aranda to play him closer to the line of scrimmage, where he has excelled as a run defender.

The move also helped him pick up his lone sack this season.

With a youthful defensive backfield this year, Jean’s experience paid huge dividends, helping younger players like Sojourn Shelton and Lubern Figaro improve.

Jean will not be remembered as one of the best Wisconsin defensive backs in history, but he played a very important role on the 2014 team, and his presence will be missed next season.

Stay tuned to Badger of Honor as we continue our countdown of the Top 10 Badgers We’ll Miss. Up next, number 9, Kenzel Doe.

Statistics courtesy

Badgers We’ll Miss:

11. The rest of the senior class

10. Peniel Jean

9. Kenzel Doe

8. Warren Herring

7. Dallas Lewallen

6. Sam Arneson

5. Kyle Costigan

4. Derek Landisch

3. Marcus Trotter

2. Rob Havenstein

1. Melvin Gordon