Top 10 Wisconsin Badgers We’ll Miss: No. 7, Dallas Lewallen


The 2014 college football season is winding down, and Badger of Honor is bidding farewell to the Wisconsin football players who will leave the team following the Outback Bowl on January 1, 2015.

Up next in our countdown is number 7, offensive lineman Dallas Lewallen.

Wisconsin Badgers
Wisconsin Badgers /

Wisconsin Badgers

Lewallen, a redshirt senior, became a major factor for the 2014 Wisconsin Badgers after mostly splitting time at center with Dan Voltz last season. With Ryan Groy graduating in 2013, a hole was open at a starting guard spot, and the Badgers moved Lewallen into the regular starting lineup.

The results were nothing but positive.

Lewallen has performed well this season, well enough to be a possible selection in the 2015 NFL Draft. At 6-6, 322 pounds, he certainly fits the profile of an NFL lineman, and experts tend to agree.

Dane Brugler, senior analyst, wrote for before the season that Lewallen had what it took to be a future NFL player.

"He has the look of a NFL lineman with a tall, sturdy frame and although he didn’t shine in any one area in the games he played last season, he didn’t have many glaring flaws either. A consistent, healthy senior season could translate into a draft pick for Lewallen."

Lewallen’s season has been both consistent and healthy, and his versatility has come into play, as well.

Voltz went down with an injury early in the Big Ten Championship Game, and Lewallen slid back into the center position he started at seven games last season.

Lewallen is listed on as the No. 20 overall offensive guard.

His consistency and stability have helped Wisconsin continue the tradition of churning out NFL-calibre offensive linemen, and come the end of April, Lewallen has the chance to be one of three likely Badgers linemen to be selected to an NFL roster.

Stay tuned to Badger of Honor as we continue our countdown of the Top 10 Badgers We’ll Miss. Up next, number 6, Sam Arneson.

Statistics courtesy

Badgers We’ll Miss:

11. The rest of the senior class

10. Peniel Jean

9. Kenzel Doe

8. Warren Herring

7. Dallas Lewallen

6. Sam Arneson

5. Kyle Costigan

4. Derek Landisch

3. Marcus Trotter

2. Rob Havenstein

1. Melvin Gordon